Talented golfers rewarded

TOP PLAYERS: The award winners from the Winter season of Whyalla Ladies Golf.
TOP PLAYERS: The award winners from the Winter season of Whyalla Ladies Golf.

The competition on Thursday 22 October was a Stableford event and the last of the 18 holes for the winter season. The winner was Abbey Pritchard, a new player, and the winner of the Exquisite Flowers voucher, with 37 points. This was on a count back fromPhyllis Branson also on 37 points and the winner of the Westland Car Bath voucher. Well done to both ladies. Next was Diana Slater on 36, Marge Nicholls on 34, with Jean Brown, Beverley Shiell and Pam Beinke on 33. NTP on the 7th was Helma Bambridge and Diana Slater on the 18th. Sweepstakes went to Michele Hart, Helma Bambridge and Colleen Howell. The game of golf can sometimes give unexpected success, especially when one player, who shall remain nameless, hooked her drive off the 18 over behind the trees near the 10th fairway, hit the ball back over the trees towards the 18 hole and then chipped in for a par 3. Not over until the ball is in the hole they say.

Tuesday 27th was the wind-up and presentation day, so a fun game of Irish Stableford was held. Winners on 37 points were the team of Helma Bambridge, Glenda Davies, Wendy Beames and Val Callaghan. This was closely followed by Jean Brown. Annette Cotter, Raz Foubister and Helen McLean.

A luncheon was held at the Spencer Hotel followed by the presentation. Great to see guests of Margaret Herbert, Margaret Lewis, Audrey Discombe and Maureen Heading, being past members. The final results for the 2020 season were as follows.

Peter Calliss Real Estate Cup and Trophy, Glenda Davies, Audrey Discombe Most reduced handicap Michele Hart, Grandmother's trophy Val Vallaghan, Captains Trophy Glenda Davies, International Bowl Silver Glenda Davies, International Bowl Bronze Annette Cotter, Shyllie Rymill Foursomes Michele Hart and RobynPhillis, WGC Match Play Michele Hart, R/U Beverley Shiell, 18 hole handicap foursomes Marcia Smith and Diana Slater, R/U Maree Farr and Annette Cotter, Eclectic Winner Wendy Beames, Pat O'Brien Memorial Match play Marcia Smith, R/U Robyn Phillis, Foursomes Championship Winners Division 1 Val Callaghan and Jean Brown, R/U BevShiell and Annette Cotter, Div 2 Winners Helen McLean and Diana Slater, R/U Robyn Philps and Michele Hart. Glenda Clayton's Most Consistent Award, Glenda Davies, Terry White Chemmart winner Glenda Davies, R/U Jean Brown, Most Chip ins Diana Slater, Club Champion Glenda Davies, R/U Val Callaghan, B Grade Raelene Foubister, R/U Diana Slater, CGrade Michele Hart, R/U Robyn Phillis, Bev Monaghan Memorial Trophy, Glenda Davies. Thanks go to our sponsors who make these events possible.