Eston claims medal

Ritchie Eston’s dominant year was rewarded as the Croatia midfielder took out the fairest and best and the Whyalla News Medal for the Players Player of the Year at the Whyalla Soccer Association awards night at the Steel United clubrooms on Saturday night.

The main driver in Croatia’s undefeated league campaign won the fairest and best, voted by the referees, by six votes and is respected by his fellow opposition players. He won the Whyalla News Medal by a whopping 20 votes.

David Ratzlaf marked his return after two years out of the game from a serious knee injury to win the Reserve grade fairest and best while Croatia wonder kid Phil Cash Jnr took out the best Under 21 player of the competition.

Anthony Joslyn and Michael Dalbosco won the top scorers trophies in the A Grade and Reserves respectively while Danny Ferguson was named coach of the year.

Jamie Tudhope’s fine season between the sticks was rewarded as he was named the keeper of the year and Tyler Welgraven took the same award out for the Reserves.

Life membership was also presented on the night as Lions’ Liam Sheedy and Steel’s Anthony Fay were rewarded for their contribution to the game over the years.

2017 team of the year

Tudhope (Croatia) , Kilpatrick (Lions), Verdoorn (Croatia), Ben Robinson (Wanderers), Dixon (Croatia), Robinson (Lions), Sheedy (Croatia), Green (Steel), Eston (Croatia), Rigg (Croatia), Rhodes (Westlands), Cash (Croatia), Joslyn (Steel), Longin (Croatia), Hwata (Croatia) and Heazel (Lions).